China's Sacred Five-Platforms Mountain
holy Northern Buddhist Marchmount Peaks, dedicated
to Munsu-bosal / Wenshu / Manjusri
-- the Bodhisattva of Wisdom
Added to added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List in June 2009

"Mount Wutai (China). With its five flat peaks, Mount Wutai is a sacred Buddhist mountain.
The cultural landscape numbers 53 monasteries and includes the East Main Hall of Foguang
Temple, the highest surviving timber Building of the Tang Dynasty with life size clay sculptures.
It also features the Ming Dynasty Shuxiang Temple with a huge complex of 500 statues
representing Buddhist stories woven into three dimensional pictures of mountains and water.
Overall, the buildings on the site present a catalogue of the way Buddhist architecture
developed and influenced palace building in China over more than one millennium. Mount
Wutai, literally, the five terrace mountain, is the highest mountain in northern China and is
remarkable for its morphology characterized by precipitous sides with five open treeless peaks.
Temples have been built on the site since the 1st century AD to the early 20th century."