The Nine Greatest Sacred Korean Mountains
(5 west & 4 east)
Western Korea:

Myohyang-san   묘향산
DPRK, Pyeongan Province, National Park,  1355m

The Bukhan-san Sub-Range
especially Samgak-san 삼각산 840m and Inwang-san
388m, and also including An-san, Bugak-san,
Dobong-san, Sapye-san, Surak-san, Bulam-san and
Acha-san.   North and East of Seoul City.   Some of
these are in the Bukhan-san National Park, others are
Local Parks.

Gyeryong-san    계룡산
Daejeon & Gongju Cities, National Park,  845m

Jiri-san     지리산
Gurye County of South Jeolla Province;  Hadong,
Sancheong and Hamyang Counties of South
Gyeongsang Province; and Namwon City of North Jeolla
Province;    National Park,  Cheonhwang-bong 1915m,  
Banya-bong 1733m & Nogo-dan 1507m

Halla-san    한라산
Jeju-do Province & Island, National Park, 1950m
Eastern Korea:

Baekdu-san   백두산
DPRK and China border, National Park, 2850m

Geumgang-san 금강산
DPRK Gangwon Province, National Park, 1908m   
Famous as the "Diamond Mountains"

Taebaek-san   태백산
Gangwon Province, Taebaek City,
Provincial Park,  1567m
(including Hambaek-san of Taebaek-shi, and Cheong-ok-san,
Guryong-san and Eungbong-san of Bonghwa & Uljin Counties)

Geumjeong-san 금정산
Busan City, City Parks, 802m
(including Sanggye-bong, Sanghak-san, Baekyang-san,
Eumgwang-san, Gubong-san and Yongdu-san)
These 9 mountains are the ones I have judged to be Korea's holiest, by the criteria explained on this
page and my 20 years of visiting them and studying this subject.  They break down in a convenient
and balanced split between 5 in the central and western regions and 4 in the eastern regions
the Taebaek Range and its southern extension now dubbed the
Nakdong-Jeongmaek or "Yeongnam Alps"), going as far
west in the southern region as the Nakdong River.  They are listed here North-to-South.  
Only three
mountains from the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea) are listed, due to our lack of information
about historical and current mountain-worship traditions there; those 3 are labled "DPRK"
.  Click on the name to
see my photos and discussion of that mountain and its San-shin shrines.

Nine has long been one of the most sacred numbers in Korean traditional religions (being 3x3), and
that is why I have used it here instead of a Western-style "Top-10" or even 12 as I used in
the List for
South Korea only.   See also my discussion of the Gu-san [nine sacred mountains of Korea's Seon
Buddhism] for further perspective.  There are several shrines and artworks extant in South Korea that
depict nine sacred mountains of the entire nation -- these lists can be different from mine.  A variety of
lists of nine can be made, for example by emphasizing Buddhist, Shamanic, historic or current-
pilgrimage elements in the criteria.  For example, one could easily replace Geunjeong-san in the list
below with the Gyeongju O-ak, Odae-san or perhaps even Palgong-san...